Join My Mailing List
  • White Facebook Icon

© 2023 by AllAbouTurkiye. Proudly created with D.

Byzantine Period 

Byzantine Period (395 A.D.-1453)

Istanbul (Byzantium, New Rome, Police, Constantinople) which was the capital of the Roman Empire in 330 A.D. became the center of Eastern Roman (Byzantine) after the empire divided into two in 395. Even Western Roman was demolished in the 5th century, Eastern Roman managed survive a thousand year. Hagia Sophia, which was built in the 6th century and still stands with all glory, is a wonder of the world from Byzantine.

Byzantine Empire was switched to central government system; the urban economy has lost its importance. As a result, the famous cities of the Hellenistic and Roman periods had reduced, while others fell into the importance of a village. At the beginning, Byzantine which controlled the entire Anatolia had his boarders narrowed after the Turks came to Anatolia and withdrew to Istanbul. After the conquest of Istanbul by Ottoman emperor Sultan Mehmet the Conqueror in 1453, this country were taken from the stage of history.